Guide to Phoenix / Scottsdale + Hotel Valley Ho!

Hey all! I’m so excited to share more details about my weekend in AZ! I had been craving a vacation and decided to finally stay at the Hotel Valley Ho after dreaming of it for months. If you aren’t familiar, it’s a gorgeous mid-century hotel that opened in the 1950’s, remodeled in the 70’s (you know, when the 50’s aesthetic felt so out of date *eyeroll*) and then restored to its original aesthetic in the early 2000’s. Other than looking like a retro-chic palace in photos, the Valley Ho checked off a few other important boxes for me as well. Colorful decor, check. Dog-friendly, check. Multiple swimming pools, check. Delicious on-site restaurant, check. Massive bathtub in room, added bonus! Anyway, you get the idea.

IMG_7910IMG_7667IMG_7909

When we arrived after the quick 5 and a half hour drive (yes, it’s quicker to drive here than to get to San Francisco from LA!) I was actually in awe. Every single detail in the lobby was an actual dream to me! From the furniture used, to the decor to the Supremes playing on the speakers. I really felt like I was in some sort of tropical time machine! Next stop was our beautiful room, with patio doors that opened to the pool area; not bad! They even left a water bowl for Mochi in the room! I immediately felt relaxed and like I was actually on vacation, which to be honest, is a hard feeling to achieve when you’re constantly working from your phone.

After a nice swim and a nap, we checked out their restaurant and I was genuinely impressed. Let’s be honest: not all hotel restaurants are created equal! The service was impeccable and the food was divine! If you happen to stop by, you have to get the lobster and grits for dinner and the red velvet waffle for breakfast!

After the obvious food coma that ensued, we woke up on Saturday feeling refreshed and ready to S H O P. One of my favorite stores to pop by in Phoenix is Antique Sugar. The selection is incredible, the shopowner is so nice, and most importantly they have a 50% off storewide sale the last weekend of every month! Was it a coincidence that we happened to be here the last weekend of the month? You decide. After picking up a few new pieces, I popped over to Retro Ranch. Another impeccable store that’s about half clothing and half amazing mid-century decor and furniture. I walked away with a vintage pillowcase and a doll case that I’m going to use as a purse! Probably the biggest surprise to me was how much I scored at Buffalo Exchange! A few people had recommended it to me and I was pleasantly surprised with how much vintage they had and how most of it was on sale.

Can I also just say how impressed I was with the food in AZ?! I had the most delicious vietnamese tofu salad at Flower Child, delicious matcha latte from Songbird Tea & Coffee, a fresh poké bowl from Chula seafood (apparently they take half the week off to drive to San Diego and go fishing to source their fish!) and a milkshake at the Sugar Bowl.

 

Next up we headed to the Scottsdale Museum of Contemporary Art to check out the submergence exhibit. So cool and open until 9/24, I highly recommend it!

Once Sunday rolled around, it was finally time for the Whurl Sip ‘N Shop with Luxie Vintage, Lauren of Mint Hair Studio, and Lisa from Colortheoryshop and I really had the best time! The atmosphere was great and every girl that came by seemed so excited about the event. I’m looking forward to coming back for more events!

Thanks to everyone who showed us a good time In Arizona (especially Hotel Valley Ho for inviting us to stay!) and we can’t wait to come back again soon!

Leave a Reply

