Whurl Gurls: Meet Yasmine of @yasminemei!

IMG_5128How and when did you start doing floral design?
I started working with flowers when I was 18. Fresh out of high school and fumbling through college, I landed my dream job working weekends at a flower stand in Laguna Beach.  I’ve been at it even since.
unnamed (9)
With such a colorful profession, how do you feel your job influences your personal style if at all?
The palettes I use in my arrangements and choose for my wardrobe tend to be similar. Often times, if I didn’t have a particular color palette in mind when shopping at the flower market, I’ll end up choosing flowers that match the outfit I was wearing that morning. It’s subconscious and comical.
unnamed (6)
I know you’ve given lessons in floral design in the past, are there any quick tips you can give here to help those of us who are florally-challenged?
Practice! And don’t overthink it.
unnamed (8)
You seem to travel a lot and I bet you draw inspiration from every location. That being said, how do you find yourself inspired by living and working in Los Angeles?
I find myself incredibly inspired by LA. The city (and county) is so diverse in population and landscape, that it’s impossible not to draw influence from it. I love how simultaneously gritty and precious LA can be. That’s a look I sometimes try to achieve in my arrangements.
IMG_5127
Speaking of travels, do you have any one specific place you like to go when you’re in need of an extra dose of inspiration?
Arizona, always.
unnamed (7)
You seem to have a great support system here in Los Angeles. As someone who works alone as well, I know how important that is! Not only to stay inspired but to be able to bounce ideas off of friends. Are there any friends or businesses that you rely on here in LA to keep the Yasmine machine going? 
There are SO many people in my life that keep me and my business going. I feel incredibly fortunate to be surrounded by so many smart, capable women. I know for certain that my business wouldn’t be what it is now without the help and support of my dear friend Monica, who owns the shop (Individual Medley) where I do my pop-ups.
Leave a Reply

