Whurl Gurls: Meet Dawn of @DawnAquarius !

So happy to have gotten the chance to interview Dawn today for the blog! The part of my job where I get to meet new friends & inspiring women constantly never ceases to amaze me! I’ve been following Dawn for awhile on instagram, both for her vintage shop and for her brilliant illustration work. Her trippy rainbow psychedelic illustration style is a long-time favorite of mine and blends seamlessly with her vintage aesthetic. She’s only been selling on Whurl for a few months, but already her shop is a favorite by many, myself included! Make sure to check out her selection on Whurl after reading a bit more about Dawn below!
whurl1
Where are you from? I grew up in the suburbs of Los Angeles- Whittier, if anyone knows it- it’s a funny, groovy lil suburb! I worked at Lovell’s Records out there in my late teens, and there are actually tons of super far-out thrifts and vintage shops. Plus 24 hour donut shops, swoon!
IMG_0192
What inspires you? Umm, generally: life, love, art, music, movies and magic– but more specifically: 60s psychedelic art, blacklight posters, rainbows, bright colors, kaleidoscopes, prisms, fruit and vegetables, Hanna Barbera cartoons, dizzying prints on vintage dresses, Family Dog posters, Sid and Marty Krofft shows, sunlight through tall trees, flowers, adventures with my boyfriend in a bright green VW bus, trippy 60s records, hippie nudie mags, electric colored old pins with absurd sayings on them, old sci-fi paperbacks, vintage underground comics, my cats, traveling to faraway lands, mushrooms, butterflies, and true love!
whurl3
What’s your favorite decade? I guess I’ve been obsessed with the 60s for as long as I can remember– as a decade almost in its entirety, and most of the art, music and film that came out of it. I think we’re better off in a lot of ways now (equality especially, though obviously that’s still a mess), but in terms of culture, I think things were freer and just more experimental then. I just wish everything could be swirling kaleidoscopic neon colors and childlike, wide-eyed love for other humans and creatures. Everything’s too dull these days. I want blindingly bright rainbows of colors everywhere. Flower is power!
What’s your favorite place to vintage shop? I’ve kind-of lived all over the USA, so I have a few favorites– Whittier actually always had the best vintage, always at Savers thrifts. I found probably half of my 60s bell sleeved groovy minidresses in their Halloween section. I LOVE Halloween racks. Best time of the year for us vintage seekers. In Portland, Maine I used to work for a shop called Material Objects, which is all consignment…I think I only took home a paycheck half of the time because I’d just cash it in and spend it on the constantly rotating racks of electric minis and fringe suede Jimi-style vests! The owners are two super amazing ladies, too. Chick power! Lastly, out here in Salt Lake City (and I so hesitate to reveal this, but here goes), there is the most unreal museum of a vintage shop called Decades… It just blows my mind every time I step in there! Racks upon overflowing racks of totally affordable, mint garments from every decade you’d ever care about. The first time I went in totally broke and immediately went home to sell some of my backstock wardrobe so I could blow the cash on Young Edwardian maxis and neon fairy minidresses!
IMG_0191
What’s the best thing you ever thrifted? I once thrifted the most magnificent unicorn mug in the whole wide world… Somehow I have managed to not break it yet (knock on wood). It’s my most prized mug in a collection of 60s pop art floral and mushroom coffee cups! I’m actually drinking coffee out of it right now. (shown below)
unicorn
Name one fun fact about yourself
I have extremely small appendages. I wear a vintage size 5 in shoes and my hands are like children’s hands. Heehee!
Leave a Reply

