Whurl Gurls: Meet Bobbi of @blacklodgevintage!

Screen Shot 2017-05-10 at 9.31.14 PM
I’m so excited to introduce you to Bobbi of @blacklodgevintage today! Bobbi and I actually go way back to 2010 (!) when I started working at ModCloth. Bobbi already worked for ModCloth at the time but was based in Pittsburgh and soon after moved to LA. We instantly hit it off with our common love of vintage and even went on a road trip together on a thrift adventure. Flash forward a few years and I’m in awe every time I see her post something new on Whurl. She’s got an amazing eye for the best vintage out there and is constantly on the hunt for the best pieces to bring to you, so keep an eye on her shop!
Where are you from?
I’m from all over, and have lived all over but currently reside in Pittsburgh, PA.
What inspires you?
For the most part, other women. Women who are doing their own thing and being creative and bold ! A huge part, and for me the hardest part, of running a business is putting yourself  “out there”.  Seeing these women, whether they are other vintage sellers, small business owners or just gals being true to themselves and their aesthetic  is truly inspiring.
What’s your favorite decade?
That’s a tough one but i think my heart will always be in the 70s. I’m pretty color and print obsessed and i love the humor in a lot of 70s clothing.
What’s your favorite place to vintage shop?
For me, the thrill of the hunt is half of the fun so my favorite place is at flea markets. It’s fun to wake up early and not know what is in store for you ! You could come home empty handed or with 30 items. Plus you get to see so many unique finds while browsing and can score some major deals.
What’s the best thing you ever thrifted?
 
Maybe the first thing i ever sold ! I found a pair of snakeskin Doc Martens. It was one of those situations where I saw them in a tiny thrift store in the middle of nowhere. They were totally cool but not really my style. I  knew I couldn’t just leave them there ! They were only a dollar so i bought and held onto them for probably a year, having never worn them. But without those shoes, who knows if i would have started selling Vintage for a living  many, many years later!
 
Name one fun fact about yourself
 
I drove across the country twice in 2016
Screen Shot 2017-05-10 at 9.11.31 PM
Leave a Reply

